IOIMBA Constitution (revised 2017)

  1. The Association shall be called “The Isle of Man Indoor Bowling Association” hereafter called the association.
  2. The object of the Association shall be to organise league matches, knockout competitions and individual competitions for members of the Association.
  3. All games and competitions shall be played under the laws of the World Indoor Bowls Council. (W.I.B.C.).
  4. All players must be registered with the National Sports Centre Douglas Isle of Man and hold a current contract.
    • All players must be registered with the Association.
    • All league teams must be registered with the Association.
  5. Officials and committee members elected at the Annual General Meeting shall govern the Association. This committee shall be responsible for the day to day running of the Association.
  6. The committee shall consist of a Chairman (who shall be President), Secretary, Treasurer, Fixtures/Competition Officer and Press/Publicity Officer plus two other members elected at the Annual General Meeting, one of whom shall be elected by the committee to be vice chairman, plus one representative of the NSC.
    • Each member of the committee shall have a role to play to ensure the smooth running of the Association.
    • The President shall preside over the AGM and present an annual report to the membership.
    • Should a member of the committee resign or fail to carry out his/her responsibilities the remaining members of the committee shall appoint a replacement or alternate who shall continue until the next AGM.
    • An honorarium is to be paid on an annual basis to the following committee members: Treasurer £75, Secretary £100, Fixtures Secretary £100, President £25, Press Officer £25, Web Site Manager £50 and other committee members £10.
  7. An Extraordinary General Meeting may be called by requisition and signed by the Representation of seven members.
  8. The funds of the Association shall be paid into the Isle of Man Bank, to the credit of the Isle of Man Indoor Bowling Association.
    • All cheques to be signed by any two of three from the President, Treasurer or Secretary.
  9. Four members of the committee shall form a quorum.
  10. The financial year shall end not less than 28 days before the A.G.M. and all account showing the receipts and expenditure shall be presented to the A.G.M.
  11. The AGM shall take place within seven weeks from the end of the season.
  12. The level of subscriptions shall be set at the A.G.M.
  13. Two members of the elected committee to be nominated to the Bowls Council and approved at the A.G.M.
  14. A notice of the A.G.M., to be posted 28 days before being held.
  15. Any notice of Motion must be submitted in writing to the Secretary at least 14 days before the A.G.M.
  16. To aid IOMIBA representatives at WIBC events the association will provide 2 national shirts to be worn at WIBC events and a £200 travel cost donation to each representative on production of appropriate receipts.
  17. The committee shall have the power to decide on matters not covered within these rules.